Dealing With Grief

Let your Heart Break - so your Spirit doesn’t !

What are the different stages of grief?

It is natural for people who are facing death, as well as those they leave behind, to move through many stages of grief.

For survivors, the grieving process can last for several months or for some 2 to 3 years or more. There is no set timeline for the grieving process, and this is quite normal.

This is true for those who are grieving the loss of a loved family member, the loss of a close friend or your pet companion.

The stages of grief do not necessarily fall into a set order, and vary greatly from one person to another.

People may move in and out of these stages at different times throughout the grieving process.

These stages include:

  • Shock
  • Depression, loneliness, and a sense of isolation
  • Physical symptoms, such as headaches, body aches, or stomach distress
  • Feelings of panic
  • Guilt
  • Anger
  • Inability to return to daily routine
  • Return of feelings of hopefulness
  • Acceptance

If you or a loved one is experiencing a grieving period that seems to last longer than it should, you may want to seek professional counseling to assist you through the process. Your healthcare provider may be a good referral source, or you may want to speak with your spiritual leader (like a priest or minister etc) for advice.